Fortunately, most of the tortillas you’ll find in restaurants and stores are vegan as they’re free from lard, an animal-based fat that was traditionally used in tortillas. Even salsa isn’t always a reliable vegan treat, as some commercial brands use non-vegan ingredients. The vegan options at Qdoba’s are plentiful, and that includes tortillas. As part of its “Taco with a Side of Purpose”, we’re now seeing the introduction of a vegan-friendly menu with exciting options, making Taco Bell a vegan-friendly restaurant. As such, if you’re purchasing a product with L-Cysteine, be sure to inquire the company about its source. However, while there are no flagrant animal ingredients, you can find mono-and diglycerides, one of the questionable ingredients we’ve mentioned above, even though t’s likely that they’re derived from vegetable oils, considering that the company claims to not be using animal ingredients. They’re also Nut-Free. They tend to be lighter than pâtés and have a deliciously fresh flavor that combines well with the crunchy chips. Anyway, if you’re bothered by these ingredients and happen to find any of them on a tortilla you purchase, you should contact the company or manufacturer to learn about their source. Many organic snack producers are also vegan and cruelty-free, making organic chips an even better option. Taco Bell Tortilla Chips are coming this summer. Tortillas made from maize (corn) have always been vegan, but tortillas made from wheat flour used to be confectioned using lard, a semi-solid white fat obtained by rendering the fatty tissue of the pig.eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'veganfoundry_com-medrectangle-4','ezslot_5',635,'0','0'])); However, wheat tortillas nowadays are less likely to contain lard as most companies opt for vegetable oil instead, making the majority of tortillas vegan. First confectioned by the indigenous people in Mesoamerica, tortillas are a fundamental part of many cuisines but are most commonly associated with Mexico. However, glycerin can either be extracted from vegetable oils or animal fats, which makes it one of those questionable ingredients that some vegans decide to avoid. Their tortillas are also vegan. Most tortilla chips are vegan. Heat the oil till it bubbles and then add the chips. Additionally, they’re gluten and soy-free, as well as non-GMO. Serve with a crunchy side salad. The enzyme commonly found in bread-making is Amylase, which can be either bacterial, fungal, or animal-derived, but according to the Vegetarian Resource Group, it’s typically fungal (and vegan). Another issue I take with most of these ingredients is that it’s difficult to pinpoint the actual source. pic.twitter.com/cd22srcHsH — Taco Bell (@tacobell) March 22, 2018 However, other than beans and a couple of signature sauces, Chuy doesn’t have that many vegan options. Tortilla chips are vegan, being made out of plant-based ingredients. This is information taken directly from their website. You don’t want the tortillas crisp at this point, just dry so that they’re easier to handle. It’s also worth bearing in mind that buying food from most large snack companies could be seen as compromising your vegan lifestyle, at least to a degree. Enzymes found in cheese are animal-based, but those used in bread-making are often fungal. Akin to regular tortillas, tortilla chips can be boiled down a combination of flour, water, salt, and oil, making them accidentally vegan. According to Siete Foods, their tortillas, tortilla chips, hot sauces, and dips are all vegan. Chuy has four types of tortillas available: Corn, Blue Corn, Flour, and Whole Wheat tortillas. Taco Bell Tortilla Chips. These include tartrazine, a yellow coloring. They’re also remarkably simple to make at home — just season a pot of unflavoured vegan yogurt with salt and pepper, and stir in chopped chives or spring onions for an extra dash of flavor. Vegan yogurt dips are another good option. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees (gas mark 4). Del Taco has a whole array of vegan options, including the Beyond Avocado Taco, Avocado Veggie Bowl, and Crinkle-Cut Fries. Their tortillas come in three different sizes,: the burrito having about 10 inches, the soft taco is 8 inches, and the fajita variety is 6 inches. Vegans have even reported finding vegan baked goods such as apple pie in their Costco bakery. I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Remove from the oil and drain on paper towels. Some flavors of Tostistos Tortilla Chips are vegan and some are not. eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganclue_com-banner-1','ezslot_3',106,'0','0']));If you’re a vegan for ethical as well as health reasons, check your chips for colorants that may not be cruelty-free. eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'veganfoundry_com-large-mobile-banner-1','ezslot_4',640,'0','0'])); Glycerin is a thick gelatinous and odorless liquid that is hydrosoluble and low in toxicity. Veganism is a lifestyle rather than a diet. Chilli can be made vegan by switching the minced beef for something else. Food For Life also provides consumers a good variety of tortillas, including brown rice tortillas, exotic black rice tortillas, sprouted whole grain tortillas, sprouted corn tortillas, and taco-sized whole grain tortillas. That being said, you’re still free to question the company or manufacturer behind the product you’re purchasing to see if the mono-and diglycerides are plant-based. There you’ll find that their tortillas, rice, beans, salsa, and guacamole are 100% vegan. You must do what ultimately feels right for you. This recipe Lacey, the person behind a Sweet Pea Chef is delicious but incredibly easy to make. Ask. Guacamole is a traditional Mexican sauce and dip that you can buy almost everywhere or make at home. Turmeric and similar natural colorings are fine. The BFree tortillas are gluten-free, wheat-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free, Non-GMO, as well as vegan and kosher certified. If you’re interested, feel free to continue reading. My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! Problems arise when commercial tortilla chips are flavored with animal ingredients or made using colorings or other ingredients that aren’t ethically sourced. Obviously, you will want to avoid dips that mention cheese; they are usually loaded not only with dairy products but also with colorings that have been tested on animals. Many tortilla chips are sold with flavorings sprayed onto them, such as “nacho cheese” or “cool ranch”. In this article, I’m going to dive a bit deeper into why I believe most tortillas are vegan, and I’ll also suggest some vegan tortilla brands, vegan tortilla recipes, and also determine whether or not the tortillas in some restaurant chains are vegan.